Senior Project- You Have the Choice (2010)

I have taught both photography and graphic design as electives at a local private school for girls. I thought that with the education those young ladies are blessed to have, they would be very happy. However, I was surprised to learn that “depression” is a word that is used quite commonly by this age group (15 to 17 years old).  Being very aware of the effects of globalization on the country and its people, I wondered if international brands were to blame. Why? They advertise lifestyles these girls cannot have here in Saudi Arabia. I couldn’t base my project on assumptions, so I had my graphic design students answer some questions. Below are the results (click on image for full view).

Research

These are the facts that led me to the final conclusion. The students would like to do something about it. They can't stop buying from these brands, so what else can they do?

I gave the matter a lot of thought. I watched a lot of TV growing up, and it did frustrate me that we couldn’t get a lot of the things we saw on TV. However, I made a choice. It was the choice to explore artistic expression and writing. It is because of that choice that I am here today, sharing the philosophy with others.

My target audience are bilingual teenagers, specifically the ones thinking and believing that they don’t have choices and have got nothing to do in their spare time, thus causing them to be depressed.

My video’s objective is simple: to get them to think about the options they haven’t explored yet.

The video may not seem region specific, but having taught the age category for an entire academic year, this type of work is appealing to them, thanks to globalization.

Some of the many options we have

You_Have_the_Choice

Which one will it be? To do something productive, or to surrender to depression?

About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in '06-'10 Portfolio, Videos & Multimedia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

