The 2010 Hall of Inspiration

[***WARNING: This post may be too inspirational for some viewers***]

Teary eyes, racing heartbeats, and sinking stomach? You know, that feeling you get when someone has inspired the hell out of you, sometimes to the point that you actually start wondering, “what the hell am I doing?!” Yes, I’m talking about insanely inspirational people. There are way too many to be covered in one post, so I will only be mentioning some that have significantly inspired me and been a great support this past year.

I. Yousef Alshaikh a.k.a TheQine

Also known as The Visual Experimentalist, Yousef caught the eyes of  local and international artists and art appreciators alike. Most of the artists featured below I know thanks to him. He has blown our minds away with his “Parabolic Sprinkles” series, and many that followed. While I’m still trying to clean that gray matter off my walls, he continues to amaze whatever is left of my brain. He truly is my favorite artist, and I will always be his #1 fan. He truly has the spirit of a happy child at play, and what’s great is that it’s contagious!

Are We Friends of Light?

II. Richard Leach a.k.a Tinkwig

At last, I was formally introduced to the magical world of… Collage! It was in late 2009 when I first embarked on this wonderful journey of discovery. A multitalented artist, Richard has truly been one of the most inspirational artists I have ever been in touch with. His collages never cease to amaze me. He is a great supporter of emerging artists such as myself, and I owe him a lot for encouraging me to experiment with collage.

So

III. Laura Tringali Holmes a.k.a Weedlace

Another truly inspirational collage artist. I’m always blown away by the dimension that her collages have. Colorful, lively masterpieces that have technique and wild imagination written all over them. What I love about her work is that she always surprises me; you just never know what’s coming! Like most of the artists featured in this post, Laura has been a great support, always responding to my inquiries and appreciating my long and boring feedback (whenever I have time to give any that is).

Light Unlimited

IV. Hanan a.k.a TheCollagist and PartiallyHere

Hanan, an incredibly talented varied artist from Lebanon. Where do I start? Hanan has been a really great inspiration this past year, with her unique touch in both photography and collage. I can always distinguish Hanan’s work from other artists’. When you enter Hanan’s world, you just can’t get enough. It’s like drugs, but it’s good for you. Hanan Land, it’s good for you. And not only is she a great inspiration, but she has also been one of my biggest supporters this past year.

lesson no 1

Blue Wave

V. Edward Cheverton

Let the fun begin! Edward Cheverton’s collages have inspired me to start my own Summer Fun Book. Colorful, witty, and playful; a whole new level for collage. How do you take scraps of paper and paint, and create a mind-blowing composition? I believe the piece below is a great example of that. A small notebook can magically transform into a whole new world once an artist adds his/her touches to it. Get a notebook today, and see where your imagination takes you.

Notes

VI. Teseleanu Goerge a.k.a. hrn

If you want to see collage that will make your jaw drop to the floor, he’s your man. I love how he introduces surrealism in his collages. It takes your mind to other places just like any spectacular surreal piece by Rene Magritte or Salvador Dali. Rejoice! A surreal collagist is among us! The piece below was the first one to scream to my attention when I stumbled upon his marvelous gallery. A great fan of George Orwell’s “1984” and “Animal Farm”, this collage spoke to me.

The Propaganda

VII. Kendra Canfield a.k.a EducatedMolecule

Take a boring book, and turn it into a playground for your imagination. Kendra’s “books” collection not only caught my eye; the pages were flying out of the computer screen, forcing me to stop and marvel at the most inspirational traditional mixed media collection I have ever seen. If you thought the last book you read was inspirational, think again.

from the sky

And that’s all for now, folks! Wishing you all super inspirational days!


About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in Critique, Featured Artists, iWrite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 2010 Hall of Inspiration

  1. Richard says:

    Very honored and pleased and touched to be here, Soraya – and in very good company, too! Thank you very much!

  2. Hanan says:

    aww, thanks Soraya. very glad to see this.
    hug, dear.

Leave a Reply

