Weekly Love – 3

Weekly LoveInspirational Music Video

Following: Your Face

Click on image to go to website

Send in a picture of yourself, and the artist will draw you in his own twisted way. Can’t wait ’til it’s finally my turn!

Recommending: Pizza Fusion: Saving the Earth, One Pizza at a Time!

Click on image to go to website

I LOVE my carbs, and most importantly, I LOVE LOVE LOVE my Italian carbs! The first time I went to Pizza Fusion, I honestly wasn’t expecting it to be the most addictive pizza I’ve ever had. My personal favorite is the pepperoni pizza, with extra mushroom. There is just something about the tomatoes that they use in the sauce that literally makes one sway right and left in anticipation.  Take your time with your personal pizza though, because it’s only four slices, and it’s minimum 25 riyals. And you must must MUST try the organic vanilla ice cream, NO TOPPINGS. Just savor the rich taste! And take your time because the one scoop is 8 riyals.

Pizza Fusion is open in Jeddah in “Rawdah Star Complex”, right next to China Gate. There’s another branch on Malik Rd. next to Shezan and Nas Air office. They also have delivery, but forgot to get the number ^^

Featuring: Ayad Alkadhi

I just love coming across artists with powerful and memorable work. You have to admit, it’s not something we see everyday with the inflation in the creative field. We tend to think within a very tight zone. Artists are not only born in one’s country; it’s happening all over the world. However, how many of them actually stand out? Is it the artist that knows how to draw and paint still life so well that it looks like a photograph? In my personal opinion, no. You can teach anyone to draw and paint like an artist, but you can’t teach them how to *think* like a true artist.

Ayad is one of those select few that use their great technical skills to send a message. One of my favorites is his series, “Islam International.”

and Supporting: Yasmine Mansouri

Yasmine is one of those young talents that I really really wish did not have to go to school 5 days a week. I strongly believe that the educational system KILLS creativity. Her creativity is definitely still there, but school is affecting her creative productivity. I just know that if she wasn’t so tied up, she could easily make it to the International art scene. I love brainstorming with her, and I enjoy giving her as much support as I can. Yasmine, hang in there girl. You have a very bright future ahead of you!

Photo is © Yasmine Mansouri

Inspired by: TEDx ARABIA

You can really know a person by asking what kind of gifts their friends get them. My awesome graduation gift from my wonderful Mai Matbouli was a ticket to TED!

Note: we did not know that we weren't supposed to take cupcakes from that particular box

It was one of those experiences that leave you incredibly inspired, but feeling very depressed and worthless at the same time! Thankfully, I am no longer feeling this way because I actually have a project of my own to work on. This was an incredible experience that I could not possibly summarize into a few words. Below are all the notes I took during the event. It was from 4.30 pm to 10.30 pm. If you think I may have some notes hiding somewhere, then I’m sorry to tell you that it’s all I have and it’s all I need.

Five speakers have planted seeds in my humble mind, and must therefore be mentioned (in the order of appearance):

1. Joshua To from Brute Labs: INNOVATION IS EASY!

2. Said Baaghil, marketing guru and branding expert, and author of  “The Power of Belonging.” His presentation was one of my favorites- short, to the point, and extremely inspirational. A very friendly person whom I am happy to be in contact with!

3. Ziad Jarrar, who successfully launched his inspirational project, Insanniah, positioning him as a life coach.

4. The representative from PlayLab, and  “The Plus Pool” project.

5. Dr. Naif Al Mutawa, creator of “The 99″, ” the first group of comic superheroes born of an Islamic archetype.” I loved the fact that he shared his story with us (or as much as time allowed at least), and told us about the obstacles he faced. His story is an example of how strong-willed individuals don’t take no for an answer. Those are the ones that leave a legacy. He worked with the best of the best in the industry to create The 99 comics. And guess what? There’s an animation!

That was an AMAZINGLY inspirational week!! Looking forward to more and more inspiration. If you’re an artist/writer and think you should be featured, e-mail me links to your work at soraya.darwish@gmail.com

About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in Featured Artists, Weekly Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Love – 3

  1. Mai says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it babes, innovation is easy..
    I looked for Dr. Naif’s books – pre-comic – to no avail, I love the stories and I’m dying to have them!
    I want me some pizza fusion ❤ been craving it all week.

  2. rayan says:

    Glad to have run into you by accident ONE MORE TIME !

    We still have a meeting to fulfil. I will inshallah after the 26th of Dec.

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review | A Love Affair with Art and Design

Leave a Reply

