Weekly Love – 5

Weekly LoveThis is the 5th and last Weekly Love post… THIS YEAR! I have nothing to share really except for my anticipation for the upcoming events of 2011. 2010, get out of 2011’s way already! I was down with a bad flu for about 10 days and have no record whatsoever of what I’ve done during that period. I worked on Weekly Love 4 when I was starting to feel better, but that’s pretty much it. Since there’s a bug going around, I should share with you a very important lesson I learned:

I was desperate to get better

I read somewhere that eating spicy food relieves cold symptoms. Hot sauce is good, but NOT when you have a fever. So please, do not make my mistake! My head felt like it was going to explode. Since there is no documentation of the phenomenon, I took the liberty to do a quick demonstrative sketch.

Obviously I couldn’t be seen in public looking like that! People would have sent me straight to where they think I came from; HELL! I had to miss Room No.5 art exhibition at Dar Al-Hekma College.

“ROOM NO.5 is a group of girls with a set of different skills showcased in a room that serves one purpose, Art. This unique exhibition holds 5 different kinds of arts (Fashion Design, Interior Design, Graphic Design, Fine Arts and Photography) Hence explaining the origin of the name Room No.5.”

I do love art, but I also love most artists and art appreciators and I really didn’t want to ruin this for them by showing up and scaring everyone. Thanks to the glorious internet, I asked the talented Mokhtar Chahine for permission to share his photo coverage of the event!


I’ve also asked my  creative friend and little sis, Yasmine Mansouri, to write a quick and inspiring review:

‘Stepped into another world’ “. That’s what you would hear if you asked those who attended Room No.5, the art exhibition held in DAH by the Creative Art Club. The sensational atmosphere itself had its role, starting with the exquisite blend of lights, the catchy music, to the whole arrangement of the exhibition space. Not to mention the melody made by the frequently heard “ooh”s and “aah”s, which was like music to my ears. I felt moved and inspired by the pieces. One is effortlessly swept off their feet into a whole new level of thoughts and emotions. Whether it was fashion design, interior design, graphic design, fine arts or photography,  you were surely to find art aficionados like yourself, with heart-shaped eyes, pondering, losing themselves past the hanged gates on the walls, only to stumble upon another piece of the puzzle that will make their next art piece.

Yep, these are the kind of events we artists need; they guarantee you a fresh new look on things somehow, recharges your inspiration and fills your heart with love and joy.”

– Yasmine Mansouri

For more pictures, visit Mokhtar’s Facebook Page

Now I may have missed Room No.5, but I do not intend to miss these two upcoming events in January:

I’ve had the pleasure to photograph at Athr Gallery on the 28th and 29th. I can’t post anything until the photos are published, but until then, here’s a sneak peak of my dilemma on day 2!

This illustration by Abdullah Bogis says it all. Contrast between rain in Malaysia (where he did his BA studies) and rain in Jeddah.

  • NAVAID, the senior Graphic Design Exhibition at Dar Al-Hekma College, on January 11th and 12th. Don’t even think about missing it!

That’s it for this year folks! Have a super inspirational new year!!!

About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in Weekly Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

