Weekly Love – 6

Weekly LoveARE YOU FEELING THE LOVE?!

I have really enjoyed working on ‘almost’ Weekly Love the past month and so. It’s a new year, and by the end of 2011, there should be 52 Weekly Love posts, including this one! Meaning? 52 different artists, 6 books (hopefully!), at least 10 different cafes and restaurants, and God knows how many events! Are you as excited as I am?!

So let’s get started! We’ve got lots of catching up to do!

Reading: “Selling the Invisible: A Field Guide to Modern Marketing” by Harry Beckwith

Get it from Amazon

I’m really enjoying this book. It’s a great read for all who care about standing out in this very competitive market. Learn why brands are competing with Disney, how the people you hire can kill or save your business, and much more.

Eating: OREO

Those who know me very well are aware of my deep love for Oreo, Milk’s favorite cookie. I used to eat it almost on a daily basis back in 11th and 12th grade. College instructors and colleagues are very aware of that, and those who love me know that getting me Oreo can easily make my day. In the last two years of college, I’ve expressed my love for Oreo in many projects.

Two from a series of 4 posters, part of a group project for Art of the Poster course

For Advertising & Branding course, using the white space for your message

The ad below isn’t by me, but it inspired this Flash ad I did for my Web Design and Multimedia course.

What are you waiting for? Go get yourself some Oreo and milk!

Drinking: EFES non alcoholic malt beverage, imported from Turkey

In other words, beer. You can find EFES at Danube supermarket, for 2 SR a bottle. You can get a 6-pack for 11.25 SR. I also found it in Egypt, but for 7 LE.

Featuring and Supporting: Sara Abdu

Sara is one of those amazing young artists whose work got my attention at first glance. It reminded me of a time where illustration was all I did. The first time I saw her work was at “Ta’athar wa Yo’ather” (تأثر و يؤثر) exhibition at Red Sea Mall. She was one of two artists that had work really worth exhibiting. I’m very happy that this got her more opportunities later on. She was one of the artists who exhibited their work in INNER VOID, an exhibition at The Shop, “The First Vintage Concept Store in KSA.” (Don’t worry, I’ll be writing about The Shop soon!) I couldn’t attend the opening because I was sick, and I didn’t have my camera when I stopped by randomly. And I got sick again and couldn’t go take pictures before Dec 27th. I love my immune system!

Notice the arrow she uses in her pieces

 

Photo by Samah Kamil

Photo by Mazen Shamrani

Many people wonder what this type of art is called. I was discussing Sara’s work with Kamelia Kamel, Art Coordinator at Athr Gallery, and we look at it as a form of poetic visual expression. There are so many art movements right now, and Saudi Arabia is not to be excluded. In all honesty, very few artists create work that stands out, rather than copying what’s ‘popular.’ That is what I love about Sara’s work; she was not afraid to take that risk of showing her work to people, even though it is definitely not everyone’s cup of tea. I would say that Sara’s work falls under “Pop Surrealism” or Lowbrow Art. You can see work by other Lowbrow artists on ArtPromote. It’s fascinating how this genre can be combined with other genres, like Art Nouveau in Audrey Kawasaki‘s case.

Sara’s one of the artists who will be exhibiting their work at the Young Saudi Artists exhibit at Athr Gallery. Don’t miss it! Opening is this wednesday!

Also, don’t miss the Graphic Design senior exhibition at Dar Al-Hekma College, this tuesday and wednesday! (7 to 10 pm)

HAVE A SUPER INSPIRATIONAL WEEK! AND SEE YOU THERE!!

About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in Featured Artists, Weekly Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

