Weekly Love – 8

Weekly LoveI honestly don’t know where this past week went. The days went by like a flash. I’ve finally finished working on The Sketchbook Project and mailed it on Sunday. I actually got so attached to it that I wanted to keep it, but I changed my mind last minute. Will definitely be sharing it with you soon- “Guide to Living and Creating the Greatest Story Ever Told.” Apparently I have a thing for big titles. Well, so did Paul Arden.

I talk a lot about my love for art and design, but I never mentioned that I was a fulltime aunt, and LOVING IT. Abdul Rahman is my first nephew, and everyday with him is a blast. I love that I can use him as an excuse to act silly in public places, haha. I recently got him paint and stamps from Early Learning Center (Red Sea Mall branch).

15 S.R each

Finger paint for 45 S.R each | Animal Stampers for 27 S.R

I figured he’d really enjoy it. He is a year and 9 months old, and although the paint is for 2 and 3 year olds and older, I refused to abide by it and decided to give it a shot. What’s the worst that could happen? It’s all about accepting that the stains are just colorful reminders of wonderful moments. It was quite interesting observing how he dealt with the colors. I know that when I look at this wall, I’ll always remember those precious moments where he was excitedly dipping his tender little fingers in the paint, and using my Prisma marker as a paint brush. The trick is to just give them one color at a time. I tried giving him 3 the first time, and he ended up creating his own game of “open container, close container.” Anyways, without further ado, our first collaboration!

Still a work in progress...

As an artist, I’ve made it my responsibility that this boy develops an interest in art. Brainwashing? Well, the good kind! He enjoyed it so much that he keeps coming back to the wall whenever he’s on the loose. I’ve been busy working as a carpenter as well. His mom got him this set from Sama’a in Jamjoom center, and it didn’t have instructions with it. Interestingly I’m the go-to person when it comes to putting stuff together, and I really do enjoy it!

FEATURING: LEMURIA

I just stumbled upon a project by an Argentinian agency called Lemuria. It made my mind fizz like a Vitamin C tablet in water! In a way, I was too intimidated to check out the rest of their work!

Website best viewed in FULL VIEW mode!

You MUST check out the Ciclope project. Absolutely brilliant. Gave me goosebumps!

Click to see the animation on Behance

SUPPORTING: Maisoon Al Saleh

“Maisoon al Saleh, at 22, is one of the youngest Emirati Artists and Entrepreneurs who is making a name for herself in her hometown Dubai, and Globally.” Her work is another great example of one of my favorite genres, Pop Surrealism.

© Maisoon Al Saleh

© Maisoon Al Saleh

© Maisoon Al Saleh

She has an ongoing solo exhibition in Dubai, titled “The Bright Side of the Bones II” at Gallery of Light, Mall of Emirates.

That’s it for this week folks! If you’re an artist/writer and would like to be featured, please contact me!

About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in Featured Artists, Weekly Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

