I Write.

I Write.
Jan 2011 

I write. I write because I will not remain silent. Our whole lives, in school, at home, we are told to listen to authoritative figures. Why? Because they’re older. Thankfully, God gave me one of the hippie spirits left. I therefore grew up standing up for my freedom and what I believed was right.

 

I write. I write because my mind is mine and they cannot control it. Our lives are controlled by certain people, because it so happens that they were born in a certain family. Although this person has been there since before I was born, we’ve never met. And yet for some reason, we must bow to figures we only see on television. We see them on television, in newspapers and magazines, but do they see us? If they’ve seen any of us, which ones have they seen? The ones that did manage to get healthcare. The ones that survived floods. The ones that agreed to appear on television.

If they haven’t met everyone, then they’ve met NO ONE.

I write. I write because my feelings are mine and they cannot keep me from expressing them. 7 notebooks in 4 years, and counting. 7 notebooks filled with joy, sorrow, hope, hopelessness, happiness, agony, contentment, frustration, and the list goes on. I write, therefore I must share, for later generations must know that not everyone was silent in the face of inequality and injustice. I write. I write because I still have hope and faith that someday, it will all pay off and our children will witness a better tomorrow. Although there will always be moments in my life where change seems impossible, I now have a revolution to remind me that impossible only exists in our minds. Stand up for what you believe in, and one day, you and all the others will change history. This is what I will be teaching my children, and they will teach it to theirs, and so on. I write. I write because I am not one of those that chose to live in their own bubble. I am not one of those that look at the less fortunate as a stain that needs to be concealed.  I am not one of those that are only happy with  gadgets and lifestyles that others can never afford. I chose to care about others.

Give food to someone and see them smile like the friend that just got an iphone or Blackberry.

I write. I write because I’m human. My thoughts, feelings, dreams… They are what differentiate us from sea foam.

I write. I write because some people out there must relate to me. I know I’m not alone. There are people out there that are passionate, emotional, faithful, and last but not least, true to themselves and others. There are people that are part of the solution and not the problem.

((ALL ILLUSTRATIONS ABOVE ARE © SORAYA A. DARWISH))

About Soraya

Lazy artist that can write and take pictures. Initiator of Casual Art Talk (2011), Founder of Onqoud (2012) Embracing art and culture!
This entry was posted in Illustration, iWrite, Thoughts of a Human Goldfish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Write.

  1. Pingback: I Recycle. | A Love Affair with Art and Design

  2. Ghaida says:

    I do really relate to this. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

